In My Name…

John 14:13

And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.

I was thinking about this, earlier this morning, and I thought that maybe… maybe it’s rather different than we think. Maybe it’s not just tagging “In Jesus’ name” on the end of our prayers–maybe it means to pray things that are in accord with His character–In the old days, “name” included everything that the person was–their character and reputation.

I have known of many prayers that have been prayed “In Jesus’ name” that He did not do. We pretty much have two options. Either: 1. God is a liar or: 2. We understood it wrong.

God forbid that He should lie. “Let God be true and every man a liar.”

I personally think that we, being human, are far more likely to have erred. And I believe this may be how–this thinking it only means to attach His actual letters-that-make-sounds name to the prayer, rather than praying things that align with Who He is. Think about it. If we ask anything that goes along with His will, His plan, the way He is–obviously He’s going to answer it. So… how do we know? Well, the best way I know is to get to know Him better through His word and through speaking to Him and letting Him speak to you.

The more we know of Him, the better we will know how to pray His mind, His will–in His name.

Leave a Reply

