Join the Anti-Movement Movement!

IMG_2877

Actually, just kidding. Don’t.

Why? Well, two reasons: 1. I just made it up, so it doesn’t exist outside of this blog post (I hope) and 2. I have decided not to join any other movements. So probably you don’t want to join a movement started by me… πŸ˜€ Especially since it would be a movement against movements… Um, yeah. Anyways.

So, I guess the next logical question would be either: 1. Why am I reading this girl’s blog?? Or 2. So…why are you not joining any more movements? If you are asking the first question, you can just close this tab. πŸ˜‰ If you are asking the second, keep reading.

Why am I not joining any movements?

Well, I have been thinking about it, and I’ve just come to think it’s the best decision–at least for me.

For awhile, I was sort of part of the “Stay-At-Home-Daughter” movement. However, the more I thought about the whole deal, and the more God showed me, the less I agreed with that particular movement. Now, I still live at home, wear dresses, cook, sew, work for my dad, take care of my siblings, and lead a girl’s discipleship group. Outwardly, not much has really changed. But… now when girls I know go to college, I don’t freak out and think they are going to ruin their lives. I just hope that they really are going because they want to learn and because God is calling them there– and that if that isn’t why they are going, I trust God to work through it anyway.

I have come to realize that there are a great many ways God works–which means many ways that are different from how He works in my life. And that’s okay. I don’t have to be with people who believe, wear, do, and think the same exact things as me. That’s called Boring. πŸ˜‰ Also, you really won’t learn much ‘tall that way.

The other reason I have decided not to join any more movements is because eventually, when you grow up more and God shows you new things, you probably won’t entirely agree with the movement any more. Or the movement will seem too small to fit all of what God has taught you. Or you’ll realize it was totally wrong. Or your focus will shift. Whatever way it goes, you’ll probably leave it at some point. (If you’re the sort of person that would stay with one till you die, then good for you. πŸ˜€ I’m just not that way.) And, to justify leaving it, you may very well say unkind things about it–and possibly do other Un-Christlike things. Which… kind of stinks, if you are a Christian. To put it lightly.

So–my solution? Skip the “movements” and just follow and abide in and love Christ.

If you disagree with Him, at least you know it is really you who is wrong–plus, eventually He’ll bring you ’round.

And the best part is you’ll never have to leave Him and He’ll never leave you.

8 thoughts on “Join the Anti-Movement Movement!

  1. Wow, this puts into words exactly what I’ve been thinking over the past year or two! Haha! I’m definitely joining your anti-movement movement. πŸ™‚

  2. Great thoughts, Carissa. I find I often “outgrow” movements. Which, I guess, is a good thing. Because hopefully, the movements are pointing toward the heavenward movement, which might mean we’re supposed to outgrow them. πŸ˜‰ Love you!

    • Thanks! That is a good point… if the movements are intended to just push you along on your journey heavenward, I guess that is good. Still though, it seems kind of odd to join something knowing you’ll leave. πŸ˜› Love you too!

Leave a Reply

