My “Be” Goals.

4.25.07 374

I will make God my source, my center, my love. He alone is worthy.

Matt. 22:37 Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.

I will consistently chose love-based emotions/actions over fear-based ones.

1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.

I will value and respect myself, so I can better love others–and because I am beloved.

Eph. 1:6 to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved., Matthew 22:39 And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’

I will keep my word.

Matthew 5:37 But let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No.’ For whatever is more than these is from the evil one.

I will love deeply and extend myself to others, in spite of the pain. Even so did my Savior suffer.

1 John 4:7-11  Beloved, let us love one another, for love is of God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. He who does not love does not know God, for God is love. In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through Him. 10 In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins. 11 Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.

I will live delightedly–I will enjoy all of God’s creation out of thankfulness and wonder and joy.

Psalm 95:1-7 Oh come, let us sing to the Lord!
Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation.
Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving;
Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.
For the Lord is the great God,
And the great King above all gods.
In His hand are the deep places of the earth;
The heights of the hills are His also.
The sea is His, for He made it;
And His hands formed the dry land.
Oh come, let us worship and bow down;
Let us kneel before the Lord our Maker.
For He is our God,
And we are the people of His pasture,
And the sheep of His hand.

I will seek to develop and use my GIFTings to the full–God gave them to be used for His glory.

1 Peter 4:10 As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God.

I will remember who I am before a Holy God, and will esteem others better than myself.

Phil. 2:3-11 Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, 10 that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, 11 and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

I will be wholly devoted to God and radically obedient to His word and calling.

1 Samuel 15:22 So Samuel said:
“Has the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices,

As in obeying the voice of the Lord?
Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice,
And to heed than the fat of rams.

I will seek purity of mind and body–because as He is holy, so I also must be. Purity is from God, and is important to Him–and hencely to me.

1 Thess. 4:3-8 For this is the will of God, your sanctification: that you should abstain from sexual immorality; that each of you should know how to possess his own vessel in sanctification and honor, not in passion of lust, like the Gentiles who do not know God; that no one should take advantage of and defraud his brother in this matter, because the Lord is the avenger of all such, as we also forewarned you and testified. For God did not call us to uncleanness, but in holiness. Therefore he who rejects this does not reject man, but God, who has also given us His Holy Spirit.

I will think and pray before speaking.

James 3:5-8 Even so the tongue is a little member and boasts great things. See how great a forest a little fire kindles! And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. The tongue is so set among our members that it defiles the whole body, and sets on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire by hell. For every kind of beast and bird, of reptile and creature of the sea, is tamed and has been tamed by mankind. But no man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.

I will maintain contact–abide–with God throughout my days.

Heb 4:14-16 14 Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. 15 For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. 16 Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need. John 15:4 Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.

I will remember that I follow Christ, and that He did not come to be served but to serve.

Matt. 20:25-2825 But Jesus called them to Himself and said, “You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and those who are great exercise authority over them. 26 Yet it shall not be so among you; but whoever desires to become great among you, let him be your servant. 27 And whoever desires to be first among you, let him be your slave— 28 just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.”

I will remember that my life is not my own–I have been bought with a terrible price. Therefore, He has every right, both as my Creator and Lord, to ask anything of me. And by His grace, I will seek to go, do, die.

1 Cor. 6:19-20 19 Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? 20 For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.

I will live with eternity in mind–I will not worry about things that are not of eternal value, and I will devote myself to things that are. I will ask myself, “Is it of eternal value?”

Col. 3: 1-4 If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory., Matt. 6:19-21, 33-34 19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. . . .33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

I will recognize my need for others wiser than I, and I will seek out mentors and submit myself to their guidance.

Proverbs 24:6 For by wise counsel you will wage your own war,
And in a multitude of counselors there is safety.

I will take Jesus’ command to “watch and pray” for His return seriously.

Matt. 26:4141 Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”, Matt. 25:13 13 “Watch therefore, for you know neither the day nor the hourin which the Son of Man is coming.

I will walk in forgiveness–I have been forgiven all, so I will in turn forgive all.

Eph. 4:32 And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.

I will confess my sins to God and others as He asks.

Eph. 5:8-13 For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light (for the fruit of the Spiritis in all goodness, righteousness, and truth), 10 finding out what is acceptable to the Lord. 11 And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them. 12 For it is shameful even to speak of those things which are done by them in secret. 13 But all things that are exposed are made manifest by the light, for whatever makes manifest is light.

I will remember that I am in a war–a war I cannot win on my own. I will take up God’s armor–and sword.

Eph. 6:10-18 10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. 11 Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.14 Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, 15 and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; 18 praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints—

I will see suffering as a good thing–it draws me closer to God, develops my character, chastises me, and lets me taste His suffering.

1 Peter 2:21 For to this you were called, because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that you should follow His steps:, James 1:2-4 My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing., 2 Cor. 4:17 For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, 1 Peter 5:10 10 But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.

I will seek God’s wisdom.

Proverbs. 2:1-8 My son, if you receive my words,
And treasure my commands within you,
So that you incline your ear to wisdom,
And apply your heart to understanding;
Yes, if you cry out for discernment,
And lift up your voice for understanding,
If you seek her as silver,
And search for her as for hidden treasures;
Then you will understand the fear of the Lord,
And find the knowledge of God.
For the Lord gives wisdom;
From His mouth come knowledge and understanding;
He stores up sound wisdom for the upright;
He is a shield to those who walk uprightly;
He guards the paths of justice,
And preserves the way of His saints.

***********************************

P.S. I post these for a few reasons: 1. So you may hold me accountable. 2. To encourage you to come up with similar goals for yourself. 3. So I can have this to look back on and see how far God has brought me in these areas.

This list was made during my J127 adventure. I made it one time during my quiet time… I had read a book that mentioned making a list like that, so I went ahead and did it. I do not, by any means, have this list accomplished–it just represents the direction I am going in, by God’s grace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

