Refiner’s Fire–Really?

IMG_1584

Purify my heart
Let me be as gold and precious silver
Purify my heart
Let me be as gold, pure gold
Refiner’s fire
My heart’s one desire
Is to be holy
Set apart for You, Lord

We sang this song in church this morning, and I couldn’t help wondering…

Do they really want that–to be refined by FIRE? Do they know how hot the fire is? How consuming? How much of what they hold dear will be burned?

Do I really want that?

I cringe, inside, to be honest. I’ve been through fire. I know how hot it is. I know of things I hold dear being burned. Oh, do I know. It hurts.

But–yes. Yes, I do. I know how hot it is, and still I say yes. Sometimes, I think I’m insane. Mostly, I know I am not. Because I know two things: I know Him, and I know He is good.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you. Isaiah 43:2

I know He walks with me. Yes, it is still hot. Really hot. But I will not be burned; only the dross will be burnt away.

So I sing–with a heart that knows what pain it is requesting, yet longs for refining anyway.

I choose to be holy
Set apart for You, my Master
Ready to do Your will
Purify my heart
Cleanse me from within
And make me holy
Purify my heart
Cleanse me from my sin
Deep within

2 thoughts on “Refiner’s Fire–Really?

Leave a Reply

