Today…

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to write about. But then I remembered what we are thinking of today–

He died.

In our place.

Those were my nails.

That was my death, my punishment He took.

“And as the substitute for our guilt, bearing our sin upon His shoulders, represented by the cross, we see the Great Scapegoat led away by the appointed officers of justice. Beloved, can you feel assured that He carried your sin? As you look at the cross upon His shoulders, does it represent your sin? There is one way which you can tell whether He carried your sin or not. Have you laid your hand upon His head, confessed your sin, and trusted in Him? Then your sin no longer lies on you; it has all been transferred by blessed imputation to Christ, and He bears it on His shoulder as a load heavier than the cross.” –Charles Spurgeon, quoted in the book Finding Freedom in Forgiveness

The highlighted line in that quote made me stop short and think about it. I had never thought about it quite like that…. so, awhile ago, I imagined that. And… wow. I encourage all of you to try that. To visualize all your sins and your iniquity flowing on to Him… the perfect, spotless Lamb of God. It’s… heart-wrenching. And yet, so gloriously freeing and hopeful.

Today is good. But that doesn’t mean today is without pain. Yes, today our salvation was purchased, and God’s glorious plan was revealed.

But oh, the cost.

We can’t fully appreciate the joy, the grace, the mercy, if we don’t meditate first on what it cost Him. That is what today is about.

{I wrote about some things we learn when we Survey the Wondrous Cross last year… I encourage you to read it today.}

Leave a comment