Dreams, Singleness, and Holiness.

Now there’s an interesting combo for you, haha. They’re actually (mostly) separate thoughts, but I thought I’d just write them all on one post.

So, dreams.

I used to have lots of them. Mostly centered around marriage and children. But also other ones, like writing books, and traveling, and maybe being a missionary or something like that.

And you know what? I don’t really have any dreams anymore. They’re all either faded or surrendered.

*smiles slightly* Except one. One very precious, very audacious dream.

To know God more.

And whatever that looks like from day to day, that’s what I want. Wherever that leads me in the long run, that’s what I want.

I don’t know what my future holds. And that’s actually rather thrilling. I’m finding out step-by-step, knowing that God has gone before and prepared the way.

Singleness.

Much related to what I just wrote, but I wanted to explain a bit more. As you may have read in Other Things, I have loved and lost. On the surface, it seems like rather a tragic tale. Of woe and tragedy. (random quote I say in real life.)

But it really isn’t, at least not all the way. And I’ve come to greatly appreciate the gift I’ve been given.

Of singleness. Again.

Can’t say I wanted it back, especially not at first. It was amazing to know that someone wanted me.

But now–now I’m so glad I’m single.

It’s not that I’m bitter. I don’t hate men. Or marriage. I still may marry one day, who knows.

The thing I’m grateful for is that now I have a chance again to serve God right here. I have a chance to invest in my family. I have a chance to focus on the things of God in a way I didn’t before. I have a chance to get to know God more.

To all you girls who have also loved and lost: embrace this time. Don’t miss the beauty of it. Don’t miss the lessons. Don’t immediately jump to another guy–physically or emotionally. Learn to rely on God. Learn to LOVE Him with ALL your heart. Learn to be obsessed with Christ. Learn to forgive. Learn to surrender. Learn to follow God’s leading, not your heart’s. Give yourself time to heal.

And, finally, holiness.

Lately I’ve been seeing something that is bothering me so much: people who want (or at least say they want) to follow God–And yet, I hear their music, see what they do online, see their book and movie choices, the people they hang out with, and–I just don’t get it.

Seriously. HOW do we expect to become more like Christ if we are constantly consuming fleshly, sinful media?

I personally know that even with being very careful about what I take in, I still struggle in so many areas.

I can’t imagine that taking in whatever or purposefully taking in junk would help at ALL. 😛

So, um… if you really, truly want to follow and know God–if you really, truly want to become more like Him in holiness–you’re going to have to stop consuming all that junk, and start filling your mind with scripture, with (real) worship music, with godly conversation, with good books (I can suggest some!), with clean movies, and so on.

It is NOT that simply not doing or seeing “bad” things will make you holy or good. That’s not the point. Only God can do that. However, we do have a responsibility to stop taking in the bad stuff and start taking in the good.

Therefore lay aside all filthiness and overflow of wickedness, and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls. James 1:21

If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.

Therefore put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. Because of these things the wrath of God is coming upon the sons of disobedience, in which you yourselves once walked when you lived in them. Colossians 3:1-7

I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. 17 For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish. Galatians 5:16-18

What you feed grows.

There. Now you know. 😀

2 thoughts on “Dreams, Singleness, and Holiness.

  1. No, I haven’t been on the computer all morning. I just got on two minutes ago. 🙂
    Thank you for posting this. I personally appreciated the holiness bit. 🙂 Very true, and very relevant to my personal life. God has been showing me that in the last few days. Seriously, it’s like you KNOW me or something! 😉 Haha…
    Have a good day!
    ~Emily

Leave a Reply

