Where Do You Stand?

where do you stand

The past few weeks–months, really–I’ve been struggling with my faith for various reasons from various sources.

Is this Christianity stuff really real? I mean I know there’s a god, there has to be, but is the Bible true, and is what I believe about God accurate?

It’s been dreadful, to be blunt. I’m not one to shy away from tough questions. I ask them and ponder them. And it’s hard. There are a lot of things that don’t make sense, things I just don’t get.

But there comes a time, I’m learning, to set the questions aside and believe.

One morning as I was struggling with these sorts of doubting, questioning thoughts (in bed–it starts there and rarely quits till after I fall asleep in the evening.) I looked down from my bunk bed and saw this paper on the floor. It was from a sermon our pastor did… one of my siblings was “volunteered” to hold it up. I have no idea why it was there, though.

I looked at it and realized I didn’t know, just then, where I stood. I was stuck somewhere in the misty lowlands.

I knew I had to choose. One can’t stay there forever. So, I did. And I can now say, with the hymn…

On Christ the solid Rock I stand/all other ground is sinking sand.

2 thoughts on “Where Do You Stand?

  1. I went through a questioning time like this a couple years ago. It was terrifying. Letting go of the beliefs I’d been raised with meant letting go of all that I loved and that loved me. Yet how could it all make sense?
    Eventually God taught me how to cling to what I know is true, no matter how it looks. Gradually, ever since, He has been proving Himself to me.
    So, yes. Stand on Christ the solid rock. He will prove Himself worth standing on.
    <

    • Thank you for the encouragement, and for sharing a bit of your story. 🙂 Having questions is good, but it’s rough… and eventually we have to come to a place where we trust.

Leave a Reply

